These Are A Few of My Favorite Gifs

Hey faithful readers. This is just a quick little post showcasing a few .gifs I’ve created over the last few months, some with additions made to them. If your browser loads slowly, it’s not your internet, but rather the page loading since .gifs are huge files.

And now, in no particular order, a few of my favorite .gifs I’ve made.

Jamie Benn Breaks the Glass

Context: Opening night of the 2011-2012 NHL season. No Richards? No problem. Jamie Benn’s got this, and he’s going to do more than just score goals. Even though this is his third year in the NHL, this hit established the theme of Jamie Benn’s season: If you didn’t know about Jamie Benn then, you do now.

Mike Napoli Trolls the Angels

Context: Mike Napoli just hit a 2-run home run, his second of the game, off his former team to put the Rangers ahead 3-1 in the Top of the 9th in the last game of the MLB regular season. The Rangers won that game to earn second place in the American League, which proved to be crucial in their trip to their second consecutive World Series appearance. This .gif has it all. Just look at Mike Napoli’s smile! And to top it off, Scioscia Face! Oh and yes, I did add the troll face in the end.

UCLA Logo Stabbed

Context: This was a short clip taken from the Pac-12 Conference’s official athletic rivalry video released in the Summer of 2011. It was awesome. But, in early September 2011, Bruins Nation cried foul over this segment of the video, claiming that the video depicted UCLA as weak by showing their logo being stabbed by the USC Drum Major. After the Pac-12 announced they were going to edit the video, taking this segment out, many USC fans, like myself, weren’t too happy that the Pac-12 gave in to a Bruin sport blog’s demands. So, I decided to save the video to my computer before it got pulled from YouTube (maybe it’s still there, I haven’t checked) and made this .gif. So now, everyone can see the USC Drum Major stab the UCLA logo repeatedly until they decide to go to another webpage.

Mike Modano Hoists The Stanley Cup

Context: None needed. Stars fans, if any Canucks, Blues, Sabres, Panthers, Blue Jackets (lol), Predators, Wild, Kings, Sharks, Jets or Coyotes fan decides to talk trash, show them this. Who cares if it happened back in 1999? I’m no mathematician, but 1>0.

Jamie Benn…Are You Kidding Me?

Context: This is one of the best goals of Jamie Benn’s young career. Granted, it was against Columbus, who sports a -61 goal differential, but here’s the thing: Jamie Benn won a 1 vs. 5 battle and embarrassed every Blue Jacket on the ice. Yes, it takes a Blue Jacket defense a special kind of bad to let that happen, but it also takes a special kind of awesome to pull that off. I decided to add some cinematic flair to it, just because I could.

Mike Ribeiro Presents: Six Shades of Sexy

Context: This was an overtime winner by Mike Ribeiro against the Calgary Flames on February 13, 2012. Mike Ribeiro wasn’t really known for having a MONSTER of a slap shot, until he launched this rocket past Mikka Kiprusoff. What makes this goal even better was Ribeiro moving his stick behind his back while somehow simultaneously maintaining control of the puck! I cut to the high-speed slow-motion shot so everyone can appreciate just how fast that puck went, which according to my rough calculations, was 98 miles per hour. For a guy his size, that’s simply incredible.

Again, these are a few of my favorite .gifs. If your internet has not crashed by now, congratulations. If it has, well, you probably aren’t reading this part of the post.

Next week, I’ll have the next installment of Graham’s Week in Review! And guess what? It’ll feature another special guest! I know I haven’t had a video in quite some time, but that’s because I’ve been a responsible college student and focused on my academics. I promise you, this will be awesome.

2 responses to “These Are A Few of My Favorite Gifs

  1. That Mike Napoli clip brings back memories. I can’t wait until he hits one of those off CJ.

Leave a comment